The Eternal Kiss: 13 Vampire Tales of Blood and Desire

The Eternal Kiss: 13 Vampire Tales of Blood and DesireThe Eternal Kiss: 13 Vampire Tales of Blood and Desire by Trisha Telep

♥ ♥ ♥ – –

It had some neat little stories and some that were just irritating. I like anthologies for two main reasons: One, they’re short stories. I prefer my short stories not to have dangling, empty endings, and far too many of these felt like a chapter pulled from a book. No real context or story arc to them.

The other reason I like anthologies is because I find new and awesome writers that way. Unfortunately, none of the authors whose work I wasn’t previously acquainted with caught my eye.

Still, for being a book of vampire short stories (which I already have an innate bias against), it wasn’t bad. I just don’t think vampires are particularly suited to short stories — these all hinted at some larger, more important backstory. Some forward-shooting story arc. They were unsatisfying because they felt unfinished.

Barnes & Noble    Powells    Ebooks

Categories: Fantasy, Reviews, Short Story Collections | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

